RSS

I KNOW WHO I AM

03 Dec

 

When someone walks up to you and asks, who are you?, It’s a question of identity. I think the first response would be to tell the person your name. In most of the scenarios, our answers usually stem from our background, abilities, achievements and prevailing circumstances. When a child is given birth to in a family, they usually conduct a naming ceremony for the child simply for the purpose of identity and for the rest of his life, he answers to that identity if he’s a boy, but if a girl, her identity changes to that of the husband’s. . Every of man’s endeavor has always been about identity. That’s why a Professor would get angry with you for calling him a Doctor. And it would interest you to know that my name does not change because of any prevalent circumstance. Whether I have cash at hand or not, whether I am indisposed or not, those things does not change my sex or my name. 

When you were born into God’s family, something happened to your identity. You carry a new identity that is created after God. A naming ceremony was conducted in Heaven when you got born again. There was an impartation of the divine life. Your genealogy changed. The same way you’d ask me about my name or gender and I won’t have to think about it before responding should be the way you carry your new identity in Christ without any iota of doubt.

But most times, we allow ourselves to be defined by our prevalent circumstances. You may have gotten to some point and it looks like a dead end and the only thing you could utter is that “What I have is not the reality”. I’ve heard people say; ‘Be Real!, Let’s face reality!, Let’s face facts!, Forget Spirituality, this is Life!, This is the real world!, What you have is the theory, this is practical’. And most of these comments stems out of the fact that they felt God’s word isn’t real. Then I begin to ask myself if there is anything more real than the word of God. The word of God is our reality.

By faith, we see THE WORLD called into existence BY GOD’S WORD, what we see created by what we don’t see. (Heb.11:3 MSG). This Son perfectly mirrors God, and is stamped with God’s nature. He HOLDS EVERYTHING TOGETHER BY WHAT HE SAYS–POWERFUL WORDS!… (Heb.1:3 MSG) In the beginning was THE WORD, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him ALL THINGS were made; without him NOTHING was made that has been made. (John 1:1-3 NIV)

We’ve allowed circumstances (facts) to prevail over the truth (God’s word). The Bible in Gen.1:2 says; darkness was upon the face of the deep. Here God could have said, “This darkness is critical! This darkness is unbelievable!” and believe me he’d have been correct because that was the situation of things but that means he’d have been ruled by sight. But he didn’t magnify the darkness, he simply spoke the light to existence (Gen.1:3). The natural is no match for the supernatural. The seen is no match for the unseen. The temporary is no match for the eternal. Can we begin to magnify God’s word above our circumstances? Can we begin to see ourselves in the light of our new identity in Christ?

It was in a bid to become like God that Adam & Eve ate the fruit (Gen.3:1-5). But they were already created in the image and likeness of God (Gen.1:26-27). That was the battle the enemy fought against the first man and woman, a battle he won by deceit. He made them to doubt that they were who God said they were. You may be on the sickbed now, that doesn’t change the fact that he himself bore your sicknesses and diseases and by his stripes you have been healed (1Pet.2:24, Isaiah 53:5). You may ask, “What do I need to do?” You simply need to fight the good fight of faith with the word of God in your mouth. The enemy wants to fight your convictions so that you can nullify it, he wants to confront your confession of faith so that you can search for an alternative, he wants you to accept defeat, and he wants you to believe the facts of life over the truth of God’s word. 

Let us hold fast the profession of OUR FAITH WITHOUT WAVERING; (for he is faithful that promised (Heb.10:23 KJV)

God is not man, one given to lies, and not a son of man changing his mind. Does he speak and not do what he says? Does he promise and not come through? (Num.23:19 MSG) God can’t break his word. And because his word cannot change, the promise is likewise unchangeable (Heb.6:18 MSG) Now thanks be to God WHO ALWAYS leads us in triumph in Christ (2Cor.2:24). 

 

Fight the good fight of faith. It’s a good fight because faith always wins.

Jesus Christ is referred to as the last Adam (1Cor.15:45). He was baptized at River Jordan (Matt.3:16-17) where the Heavens opened and the Spirit of God descended on Him in the form of a dove and God spoke from heaven saying, “This is my BELOVED SON, in whom I am well pleased” (Matt.3:17). After that the devil came to him and said, “If you are the son of God, command that these stones become bread.”(Mt.4:3). The same method he used in deceiving the first Adam, he wanted to use for the last Adam. The devil implied that the fact that God said Jesus was His son was not enough, Jesus needed to prove it. If he had yielded, he would have defined his sonship by performance. Instead, He said, “It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God” (Mt.4:4). This could be translated to mean, whether I turn these stones into bread or not, I am who God says I am. My identity won’t stem from what I have done or what I have not done. And it would interest you to know that when God said, “This is my beloved son in whom I am well pleased”, Jesus had not worked any miracle or exercised any authority. Your identity therefore is not rooted in the“DO-ING” but rather “BE-ING”; not about what you have done but in who Christ has made you to be. 

Your uniqueness is on your inside not about what you’ve done or what you’ve not done, it’s about the new identity you have now.

When the man at the beautiful gate met with Peter and asked for alms, Peter, even when Peter knew he didn’t have money to give to him, looked inwards and gave him what his money could not have gotten him (Acts.3:8). Paul looked at King Agrippa and said “I wish you could be like me, except for these chains” (Acts 26:29). They came to Jesus for his temple tax and Judas Iscariot (the treasurer) wasn’t around but he got the money from the mouth of a fish (Matt.17:24-27). These men were never stranded. They all knew there was more to their lives than what people can see. They all walked in the supernatural. They all embraced what the normal man would see as illusion. 

 

Who told you that you are a failure because you wrote SSCE three times? Who told you that you can’t succeed because people that are more experienced than you have done the business and they have failed? Who told you that your inability to get a job makes you a failure? Who told you nothing good can ever come forth from you? Who told you God has forgotten you because you are of marriageable age and you have no suitor let alone think of wedding plans? Who told you that it’s over for you? Who told you that it’s too late. Whose report will you believe? Though the battle may be raging but Victory is always ours in Christ Jesus. The best report is the one that comes through faith. Stop responding to life as if it were created by human reasoning. tolulopeMOODY said something that is very profound with this line of thought, He said “Your uniqueness and essence is nothing on the external”.

                      

Who is he who speaks and it comes to pass, if the Lord has not authorized and commanded it? (Lam.3:37).

 

Fight the good fight of faith with your new identity in Christ. One of my revered personalities said “Everybody fails because of one thing…trusting the wrong voice. If you succeed, it will be because you trusted the right voice. Your future is decided by who you choose to believe”. I know whom I have believed.

 

CONFESSIONS OF FAITH

I am who God says I am! I am the healed of the lord! All things are working together for my good because I love God and I’m called according to purpose!

I am a chosen generation called forth to show forth his radiance!                           

I walk in power, I walk in miracles, I live a life of favour! It  doesn’t matter what you see now, I am blessed beyond a curse!                                      

I lay up gold as dust, the abundance of the sea is returned unto me!             

I am a global light, I shine everywhere i go!     

Christ has been made unto me the wisdom and power of God; therefore I walk in light and supernatural wisdom!

I am blessed in the city, I am blessed in the country, the works of my hands is blessed!

I raise men of influence everywhere I go.

I’m not a pitied man, I’m a graced man.

I exude the fragrance of the knowledge of God everywhere I go.

I’m not a victim of circumstances, I’m master over them.

I flourish everywhere I go.

Keep declaring who you are and what you have in Christ. I call forth the King in You.

 

I believe so much in YOU.

 

oluwafemiOLUKOYA

08050378179, 07067519208

simokool@yahoo.com, osamuel32@gmail.com

 

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “I KNOW WHO I AM

  1. temmyblizz

    December 4, 2013 at 20:51

    Hmmmm.PST.Samuel,may your light shine brighter and brighter.The spirit is one.Well done. I know who I am!

     

Leave a Reply

 
